New Safe Streets Funding: Go BIG & Bold (by Sept. 15 Deadline)


  • Start: June 28, 2022 11:00 AM
  • End: June 28, 2022 12:15 PM

Tuesday, June 28 @ 11 am PT / noon MT / 1 pm CT / 2 pm ET

Significant new funding is available to help local-, regional- and tribal communities advance Vision Zero – safe mobility for all – and it’s encouraging bigger, bolder project ideas. The new Safe Streets & Roads for All (SS4A) federal program will provide $1billion/year to municipalities, regional governments and tribal communities for their Vision Zero-specific work, including planning and implementation. And it’s incentivizing applicants to move beyond the status quo in their proposals.

In this 75-minute webinar, we’ll highlight ways to leverage this new funding to make meaningful, lasting systems-level safety changes in your community and move past the usual Whack-a-Mole approach. Examples include: moving beyond a typical “planning process” to problem-solve on deeper challenges related to slowing speeds community-wide; bringing an equity & justice framework to your Vision Zero efforts; and going beyond spot improvements to system-wide street changes that embody a Safe System approach.

Join us and Vision Zero leaders from communities around the nation, who will share their experiences and advice, to think BIG. (Note this is not a “How-to-apply” session. For official information on the SS4A process and details, see USDOT’s site).

Register here.