Up the Ante for Roadway Safety in Your State


  • Start: June 7, 2022 11:00 AM
  • End: June 7, 2022 12:00 PM

Tuesday, June 7, 2022 @ 11 am PT / noon MT / 1 pm CT / 2 pm ET

Safe mobility for all requires visionary thinking – and funding – from State Departments of Transportation (DOTs). New and existing federal funding sources could result in big safety improvements or continue to fuel a status quo that is failing on many levels. Now is the time to work with your state to ensure the funding is leveraged for meaningful, lasting safety improvements. We invite advocates and DOT staff to join us for this webinar to help your state follow the money for safety.

We will hear about one prime opportunity for change: the Highway Safety Improvement Program (HSIP). The HSIP is getting a big funding injection for safety and Ken McLeod of the League of American Bicyclists will help us understand the Vulnerable Road User Special Rule and other programs of importance for walking and biking safety. Rachel Hultin of Bicycle Colorado will share the Recalibrating Transportation Roadmap, which makes the case for Colorado DOT and regional transportation agencies to think big about shifting money from projects that encourage more auto trips to investments in more sustainable options that improve safety and equity. Jackie DeWolfe of MassDOT will talk about ways DOTs can apply the Safe System approach and design for all people regardless of funding source.

Is your state focusing its funding on the right outcomes? Now is the time to make sure of it. (And, if you’re in one of these states, you’ll have even more incentive – and money available – to make needed safety changes).

The Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) supports the educational content of this webinar to offer PDH credit. Please reach out to us at info@visionzeronetwork.org for more details.

Register here.